3-Day Diet Assessment and Its Results

It seems reasonable to state that I am a relatively healthy individual with 5 ft. 6 inches in height and 100 lbs. weight. My BMI, 16.1, allows assuming that I am a little bit underweight, which might imply several health problems; thus, I have to pay attention to the issue. I am a 20-years-old young male who has a good family history within the scope of difficulties with health. I do not smoke or take alcohol, which contributes to the avoidance of many physical condition challenges. This paper aims to assess my 3-day dietary routine, as well as describe my activities during the period, to determine several suggestions regarding my diet.

It should be stated that this analysis covers the period between 07/02/2020 and 07/04/2020. My caloric intake was above the recommended level, and if I follow this pattern further, I will gain weight. However, given the mentioned underweight, it might be rational to adhere to such an approach for a couple of weeks. Here, I should admit that I do not pay attention to my diet to a necessary extent and tend to consume harmful amounts and kinds of food at times. Despite the fact my body utilizes my current nutrition well, I realize that I am to change my attitude to the issue.

What is more, the 3-day assessment shows that I am not active enough. I spend most of the day sedentary at a desk, which is not good for my health. However, I spent a considerable amount of time walking that allows me to burn about 600 kilocalories per day. Approximately three times a week, I also play table tennis that may burn about 200 kilocalories in my case, as well as keep my body in relative tonus. On average, I slept for 7.5 hours during these three days and indicated no issues in this regard.

At this point, it seems rational to turn to my dietary assessment in more detail. My average carbohydrate intake was 274.9 grams, which equated to 120% of my DRI. It should be mentioned that my carbohydrate intake is 46.4% of the total kilocalories consumed, which falls within the recommendation of 45-65%. The primary sources of my carbohydrates were ready-to-eat chocolate cake, pan-fried potatoes, and cheese pizza – all of these cannot be considered healthy food. Hence, I should increase my intake of fruits and vegetables and make them my main carbohydrates sources. It should also be noted that I do not tend to cook food, so I can barely control what nutrients go into my body.

The average fat intake was 100.7 grams, which is 184.2% of DRI, and my saturated fat was about 30% of the total fat consumption. This fat intake was at 38.2% of total kilocalories, which is above the recommendation. The majority of these indicators came from chicken fried steak (19%), cheese pizza (13%), and pan-fried potatoes (9.5%). It seems apparent that this unhealthy food might lead to several health-related issues. Then, the recommendation regarding protein intake is 10-35% of total calories. My consumption fell within it as 396 kilocalories, or 16.7%, were consumed. My primary protein source was chicken – both steak and the fried one – and roast beef.

It is apparent that I also have some problems within the scope of vitamin intake. For instance, the following vitamins are below the recommended percentage of DRI – Vitamin D (15.4%), Vitamin A (RAE) (27.7%), Vitamin A (IU) (36%), and Vitamin K (49%). What is more, there are several troubles with minerals intake – my Magnesium is 57.4%, Calcium is 62.5%, and Potassium is 55%. The latter two may be supplemented with the inclusion of cheese and fish into my diet. Then, fish should be considered as an essential element of my dietary routine, but I tend not to consume it in a sufficient amount. I should note that my Sodium intake (176.2%) surpasses DRI upper limit. This, again, results from pizza, potatoes, and fried chicken – such a state of affairs emphasizes the importance of reducing the consumption of the listed food.

The concrete recommendations regarding the improvement of my diet are as follows. I should double my grains intake – the aim is at least 2.5 oz a week. Then, I have to diverse my vegetable consumption; for example, weekly, I can take 3 cups of orange vegetables, 0.5 cups of dry beans and peas, and 1 cup of dark green vegetables. What is more, I should aim for four teaspoons of oil per day. Finally, every week, I have to set the goal of consuming 6 oz of seafood, 19 oz of meat, poultry, and eggs, and 3 oz of nuts, seeds, and soy products.

To conclude, the assessment reveals the fact that my current diet is to be perceived as poor. After the analysis founded on the reports (Appendix 1; Appendix 2; Appendix 3), I realized that I need to take action urgently and make some considerable changes. I also should increase my physical activities to gain muscle weight and adhere to an appropriate and balanced diet. This will result in decreased risks related to my health and improved body tonus.

Appendix 1. DRI Report

DRI Report

DRI Report

Appendix 2. Intake vs. Goals

Intake vs. Goals

Intake vs. Goals

Appendix 3. Macronutrient Ranges

Macronutrient Ranges